Above.com
My Account
Account Details
Two Step Auth
Billing Details
Payout Details
Affiliate Details
Settings
 
AutoPilot Manual
AutoPilot API Manual
Registrar Manual
Registrar API Manual
Portfolio Manager Manual

Two Step Authentication


What is Two Step Authentication?

Two Step Authentication (also known as Two-factor authentication or 2FA) is an added layer of security requiring a unique code to be entered whenever performing changes to domains in your account. Two Step Authentication prevents the following functions from being used without the unique code: set DNS, view/add/delete DNS records, domain Push, domain Delete, Request EPP and URL Forwarding/Redirection.


How to enable Two Step Authentication

Note: Your email address and phone number must be verified to use Two Step Authentication.

  1. Log into your Above.com account and click on the My Account link.
  2. Click on the Two Step Auth link under the Account Details section.
  3. Click on the enable link to start the activation process.
  4. Click Set up in your Mobile as there are currently no configured ways to receive codes.
  5. Select your phone type.


  6. Next, you will be given directions based on your device type of where to download authenticator application for your device from. This must be installed in order to use the Two Step Authentication.
  7. Open Google Authenticator and select Menu and "Set up account."
  8. Select "Scan a barcode" and use your devices camera to scan the QR code shown.
    Note: Scan the setup QR code on multiple devices before continuing to the next step for multiple device access.
  9. Enter the 6 digit code shown in the Google Authenticator and click the Verifiy and Save button.

Two Step Authentication is now enabled. Click on the two factor configuration link to access more settings.


What to do if you mobile device is lost or replaced

The best method to deal with this situation is to create a set of backup codes or add a backup number when you first enable Two Step Authentication. These can then be used as a temporary replacement to the authenticator application on your device.

To create backup codes you will need to:

  1. Log into your Above.com account and click on the My Account link.
  2. Click on the Two Step Auth link under the Account Details section and then click on the Details link.
  3. Next click on the Print or Download codes link.
  4. Enter the 6 digit code from the authenticator application.
  5. You can either use the Print or Save to text file buttons to make a copy of the 10 codes provided.

A new set of 10 codes can be created by using the Generate new codes button.

Important:
  • Each code can only be used once and will then be removed from the list.
  • Only the latest set of backup codes generated will work.

To add another mobile device to receive back up codes to, please:

  1. Log into your Above.com account and click on the My Account link.
  2. Click on the Two Step Auth link under the Account Details section and then click on the Details link.
  3. Click on the Add phone Number link from the configuration options.
  4. Select the Country Code and then enter the mobile device number of the back up mobile device you wish to use.
  5. Choose to receive the code via text message (SMS) or by phone call and click Save.
  6. Enter the 6 digit code from the authenticator application and click Verify.

If you do not have any back up codes or have not set up a back up mobile device and have lost or misplaced your device with the authenticator application, please contact support.


How to disable Two Step Authentication

To disable the Two Step Authentication please:

  1. Log into your Above.com account and click on the My Account link.
  2. Click on the Two Step Auth link under the Account Details section and then click on the Details link.
  3. Click on the Disable link.
  4. Confirm that you would like to disable it by clicking Continue.
  5. Enter the 6 digit code from the authenticator application and click Disable.

The Two Step Authentication will then be disabled from your account and can be enabled again later if needed.